Black Bean Brownies

Black beans?  Brownies?  Together?  Yes.  When I first learned about the concept of substituting black beans for oil and eggs, I was skeptical.  One day my sister brought home a batch of moist, chocolatey, decadent brownies made with the magical fruit and I was soon a believer.

Eliminating the oil and eggs substantially reduces excess calories and fat.  The moisture of the bean keeps them soft; thoroughly pureeing the beans eliminates the possibility of skins in the batter.  True to form, I use a huge shortcut:  boxed brownie mix.  One of these days I’ll create a homemade version…

I took my first batch to the office for a test run.  People looked at me like I was crazy when I presented them as “black bean brownies.”  Now they’re believers.  You will be too.

Ingredients:

1 box of your favorite brownie mix

1 16-ounce can black beans

1/2 tsp powdered sugar

Method:

1.  Preheat oven according to package instructions.  Drain and thoroughly rinse beans then rinse out the can.  Pour them back into the can and add water until completely full.

2.  Set up your food processor or blender and pour contents of can into the vessel.  Puree the beans until no skins or flecks are visible, occasionally scraping the sides of the container with a flexible spatula.

3.  Pour batter into a greased 9 x 13″ pan and bake according to the instructions on the box.  Let brownies cool before dusting with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

